, , , , , , ,

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup will be the tenth Cricket World Cup and will be hosted by three South Asian Test cricket playing countries: India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. It will be Bangladesh’s first time co-hosting a Cricket World Cup. The World Cup will use cricket’s One Day International format, with fourteen national cricket teams scheduled to compete. The World Cup will take place between February and early April 2011, with the first match to be played on 19 February 2011 with co-hosts India and Bangladesh facing off at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka. The opening ceremony will be held on 17 February 2011, two days before the start of the tournament. The final of the world cup would take place on 2nd April, 2011 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

The World Cup was also supposed to be co-hosted by Pakistan, but in the wake of the 2009 attack on the Sri Lanka national cricket team in Lahore, the International Cricket Council (ICC) decided to strip Pakistan of its hosting rights. The headquarters of the organising committee were originally situated in Lahore, but have now been shifted to Mumbai. Pakistan was supposed to hold 14 matches, including one semi-final.[6] Eight of Pakistan’s matches have been awarded to India, four to Sri Lanka and two to Bangladesh.

Host selection:
The ICC originally announced its decision which countries would host the 2011 World Cup on 30 April 2006. Australia and New Zealand also bid for the tournament, and a successful Australasian bid for the 2011 World Cup would have seen a 50-50 split in games, with the final still up for negotiation. The Trans–Tasman bid, Beyond Boundaries, was the only bid for 2011 delivered to ICC headquarters in Dubai ahead of the 1 March deadline. Considerable merits of the Australasian bid were the superior venues and infrastructure and the total support of both the New Zealand and Australian governments on tax and customs issues during the tournament, according to Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland. The New Zealand government had also given assurance that Zimbabwe would be allowed to compete in the tournament, following political discussions in the country whether their cricket team should be allowed to tour Zimbabwe in 2005. The Australian bid also won the support of former West Indies captain Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

ICC President Ehsan Mani said the extra time taken by the Asian block to hand over its bid compliance book had harmed the four-nation bid. However, when the time came to vote, Asia won the hosting rights by seven votes to three.The Pakistan Cricket Board has revealed that it was the vote of the West Indies Cricket Board that swung the matter, as the Asian bid had the support of the four bidding countries along with South Africa and Zimbabwe. It was reported in Pakistani newspaper Dawn that the Asian countries promised to hold fund-raising events for West Indian cricket during the 2007 World Cup, which may have influenced the vote. However, chairman of the Monitoring Committee of the Asian bid, I. S. Bindra, said it was their promise of extra profits in the region of US$ 400 million that swung the vote, that there “was no quid pro quo for their support”, and that playing the West Indies had “nothing to do with the World Cup bid”.

ICC prefers to rotate World Cup venues between major cricket playing nations. The world cups have been hosted by England (Three times 1975,1979,1983), India/Pakistan 1987, Australia/New Zealand 1992, India/Pakistan/Sri Lanka 1996, England (UK,Netherlands) 1999, South Africa (Zimbabwe,Kenya) 2003, West Indies 2007. For the 2011 World Cup Australia/New Zealand were a strong contender ahead of India/Pakistan/Sri Lanka/Bangladesh because they had not hosted a World cup since 1992. In the final voting India won because they argued that since they were a bigger group of countries they should be assigned a World cup more frequently. Due to this, Australia/New Zealand were awarded the 2015 World Cup.

The following 14 teams qualified for the final tournament. Countries with an asterisk* are Associate Members.

ACA (3)

* Kenya*
* South Africa
* Zimbabwe

ACA (2)

* Canada*
* West Indies

ACC (4)

* Bangladesh (Hosts)
* India (Hosts)
* Pakistan
* Sri Lanka (Hosts)

EAP (2)

* Australia
* New Zealand

ECC (3)

* England
* Ireland*
* Netherlands*


The ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy is a running trophy, presented to the winning team since 1999. It was designed by Garrard & Co within 2 months. The original trophy is kept with the ICC at headquarters in Dubai. The winning team is given a replica. The only difference between the two is that the original has the names of all the previous winners inscribed on it.

Prize money

The 2011 Cricket World Cup winning team would be taking home a prize money of US$ 3 million and US$ 1.5 million for runner-up, with the International Cricket Council deciding to double the total allocation for the coveted tournament to US$ 10 million. The decision was taken at the ICC Board meeting which was held in Dubai on April 20, 2010.

Umpire selection panel selected 18 umpires excluding a reserve umpire, Enamul Haque to officiate at the World Cup: 5 from Australia, 6 from Asia, 3 from England, 2 from New Zealand and 1 each from South Africa and West Indies.


* Australia Simon Taufel
* Australia Steve Davis
* Australia Rod Tucker
* Australia Daryl Harper
* Australia Bruce Oxenford

New Zealand

* New Zealand Billy Bowden
* New Zealand Tony Hill

South Africa

* South Africa Marais Erasmus


* Pakistan Aleem Dar
* Pakistan Asad Rauf


* India Shavir Tarapore
* India Amish Saheba


* England Ian Gould
* England Richard Kettleborough
* England Nigel Llong

Sri Lanka

* Sri Lanka Asoka de Silva
* Sri Lanka Kumar Dharmasena

West Indies

* Dominica Billy Doctrove